2017飞机座椅创新大会-下一次突破从何而来?

Innovative aircraft seating workshop

12月4日至12月7日在德国汉堡举办的飞机座椅创新大会上,tangerine的航空设计专家举行了一次研讨会,名为:“航空座椅:下一次突破从何而来?”

tangerine首席创意总监Matt Round探讨了未来行业趋势,引发代表团成员深入思考,分析阻止这些新趋势进入市场的现有阻碍。大多数与会者很快认定,认证是最大的创新阻碍。然而,研讨会即将结束时,这一说法却遭到否定,大家又一致认为创新的最大阻碍是公司没有完全理解顾客。

大家普遍认为,现有认证是无法轻易改变的,因此必须制定正确的安全标准。然而代表们一致认为,既然优劣设计都需要同样的资金投入,那么与其打造拙劣设计,还不如在相同的认证约束下打造更加卓越的设计。

tangerine首席执行官Martin Darbyshire在大会期间进一步探讨了找到正确创新方法的途径,同时谈及在设计过程中探索创新的重要性,分析了品牌如何从良好的客户体验中获益。

由于风险规避文化及操作复杂性增加等诸多原因,航空业的突破性进展一直受到限制。然而,如果行业从业人员可以增强进取心,致力提升客户体验,潜在的突破依然有可能实现。这是近20年前,Darbyshire和Round在设计英国航空商务舱座椅时所体验到的。

全新的客户体验可令品牌获益良多,对品牌的影响也比只是重新定位现有产品或表面上的“品牌提升”更大。要想成功实现设计创新,公司必须确切了解他们的客户及其需求。

把握好这一点,品牌便获得了无限可能。反之,品牌形象可能会一落千丈。

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us

Innovative Aircraft Seating Conference 2017- Where might the next breakthrough come from?

Innovative aircraft seating workshop

At the Innovative Aircraft Seating Conference in Hamburg 4th – 7th December, tangerine’s aviation design specialists hosted a workshop titled: ‘Airline Seating: Where might the next breakthrough come from?’

Tangerine CCO Matt Round explored future trends in the industry and encouraged delegates to think about what barriers exist that may prevent these new trends from entering the market. Certification was quickly identified by the majority of attendees as the biggest obstacle to innovation. However, by the end of the workshop, this notion had been turned upon its head, with the most significant barrier to innovation identified as companies not simply understanding the consumer.

It was universally agreed that certification could not readily be changed; that the right safety standards have to be in place. Delegates did however agree that good design can be created in the same certification constraints as bad design can, and that they can both cost the same amount.

Getting the right approach to innovation was further explored during the conference by tangerine CEO Martin Darbyshire, who spoke about the need to explore the importance of innovation within the design process and the benefit that a positive customer experience can bring to a brand.

Breakthroughs are limited in the airline industry by a number of factors, including a risk averse culture and increased operational complexity. However, potential breakthroughs can occur if the level of ambition is raised, particularly with regards to the customer experience. Something that Darbyshire and Round experienced with their design of the Club World Seat for British Airways nearly two decades ago.

Creating a new customer experience can bring more benefits and have a bigger impact on a brand than simply repositioning an existing product or giving it a cosmetic ‘brand lift’. To innovate and design successfully a company must understand exactly who their customers are and precisely what their needs are.

Get it right and the possibilities for a brand are endless. Get it wrong and the brand is probably set to fail.

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and
maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us