英航商务舱

英国航空

概要

2000年,英国航空向tangerine提出设计挑战:“寻找航空旅行行业中的‘圣杯’——给乘客的旅行带来惊喜。”当时,航空业正处于动荡不安的时期:全球经济摇摇欲坠,燃料价格大幅上涨,航空公司之间的竞争日益激烈。各大航空公司都在寻找能给他们带来商业优势的差异点。tangerine为英国航空打造了“Project Dusk”——一个为英国航空商务舱打造的大胆设计解决方案,足以震惊整个商业航空业,重新定义商务舱市场,并极大地推动英国航空利润的增长。

关键洞察

“Project Dusk”需要深入了解商务舱乘客的心理层面需求以及航空公司面临的实际限制。“乘客告诉我们,他们渴望拥有足够的自由活动空间。”tangerine首席执行官Martin Darbyshire回忆道。“就像俯瞰海滩上的每一块石头,细致考虑每个设计细节会给使用者带来怎样的好处,以及企业需要相应付出的投入。在商务舱中,良好的乘客体验的关键在于乘客在飞行期间能够得到很好的休息。如果乘客不能调整座椅,那么他们将无法达到休息所需的深度睡眠。并且调整的关键在于可以平躺。

英国航空俯视图

英国航空商务舱座椅

解决方案

最终的解决方案就是是极具开创性且重新定义客舱的阴阳协调布局设计,现已享誉世界并获得专利。相邻座椅一个朝前,一个朝后搭配成对,改变了传统的所有乘客面朝客舱前部的布局。“从来没有人想过采用这样的客舱布局。”创意总监Matt Round说道。“这种客舱布局让英国航空的商务舱拥有了六英尺完全可平躺的商务舱座椅,同时每排仍可保留八个座椅位置。”英国航空的乘客爱上了这种空中客舱体验。客舱乘务员也非常青睐这种客舱。仅仅在12个月内,英国航空就实现了投资回报。

此次合作大获成功,斩获了众多奖项,五年后,英国航空再次委托我们重新设计商务舱。我们对座椅角度进行了微调,使得第二代平躺座椅的宽度增加了25%,同时保持客舱内可容纳的乘客数量不变。2013年,波音推出梦想客机,tangerine设计出全新的2-3-2布局,为波音787和空客A380客机的商务舱打造被称为“阴阳阴”的协调客舱布局。

英国航空商务舱可平躺座椅英国航空阴阳协调座椅 英国航空商务舱座椅

设计故事

客户感言

客户评论:

“我们认为,tangerine是一家在客舱与座椅设计方面颇有造诣的咨询公司,我们与tangerine多年合作,建立了良好的合作关系。”

英国航空设计主管Peter Cooke

联系tangerine

更加详细地为您阐释我们如何通过创新型战略设计,帮助您提高市场份额、推广新业务以及最大化提高您的投资回报。

联系我们

您可能还对以下内容感兴趣。

Club World

British Airways

The brief

The challenge presented to tangerine by British Airways in 2000 was daunting: “find us the holy grail of airline travel sprinkled with a bit of pixie-dust – and astound us along the way.” It was a turbulent time for the aviation industry: the global economy was lurching disconcertingly, fuel prices had begun to rise sharply and competition in the skies was increasingly fierce. Every major airline was scanning the horizon to locate the point of difference that would give them business advantage. Tangerine’s response to the BA brief was “Project Dusk” – an audacious design solution for their Club World business cabins that would stun the commercial aviation industry, redefine the business market and become a profit engine for British Airways.

Key Insights

‘Project Dusk’ required an understanding of the psychology of the business passenger as much as the practical constraints of an airliner. “Passengers told us they yearned for the freedom to move as they wished,” tangerine CEO Martin Darbyshire recalls. “You look under every stone on the beach and always bear in mind the benefit to the person using it and the business paying for it.” Central to a good customer experience in Club World was the opportunity to get some rest while flying. If you can’t turn in your airline seat you never get the deep sleep necessary to arrive rested. And the key to turning over was lying flat.

02_British Airways_Content_01

02_British Airways_Content_02

The solution

The answer, when it came, was groundbreaking and redefined the design of aircraft interiors; the now world famous and fully patented yin-yang approach. Instead of all passengers facing the front of the cabin, seats were paired in a forward/rearward formation. “No one had ever considered arranging cabin space in this way,” says Creative Director Matt Round. “It gave BA a fully flat six-foot bed in business class while still keeping eight seats abreast.” BA customers fell in love with the lounge in the sky. The cabin crew championed it. The company saw a return on its investment within 12 months.

On the back of that award-winning success, we were asked to re-design the business class cabins five years later. A tiny change to the angling of the seat allowed us to increase the width of the second-generation flat bed by 25%, without reducing the number of passengers accommodated in the cabin. When the Boeing Dreamliner was introduced in 2013, tangerine developed a new 2-3-2 configuration – dubbed the yin-yang-yin – for business class cabins in both the 787 and the A380 aircraft.

02_British Airways_Content_03142123445054b651125f90b02_British Airways_Content_05

The design story

Testimonials

The client says:

"We regard tangerine as an agency at the very pinnacle of cabin and seat design and we’ve had a great relationship working hand-in-hand with them."

Peter Cooke, Design Lead, British Airways

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and
maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us

You may also be interested in...