由tangerine设计的2英镑硬币,用以纪念英国皇家飞行军团在一战中的贡献。

9月28日

这周末,航空爱好者们来到了位于达克斯福德的帝国战争博物馆,他们在参观不列颠空战展览后都收到了一枚具有历史意义的艺术设计硬币。

tangerine是一家领先的英国设计咨询公司,最为知名的设计是为英国航空打造的英航商务舱座椅。tangerine将对飞行的热爱与自身的设计专长相结合,为英国皇家铸币局设计了具有特殊意义的2镑硬币,以此纪念航空飞行员们在一战时期的“空战”中所做出的卓越贡献。

该设计展示了1917年4月空战期间,一名英国皇家飞行队飞行员与他的观测员驾驶由英国皇家飞机制造厂制造的 R.E.8战机在阿拉斯战役作战区域执行侦察任务时的场景。设计图上,飞机下方的陆地描绘的是一副地图,体现的是皇家飞行队在这片不断变化的陆地上执行绘图、侦察、收集情报等重要任务的场景。

tangerine创意主管Daniel Flashman说道:“能够受邀设计具有如此特殊意义的纪念币,我们倍感殊荣。”“我们探索了许多不同的主题。研究了大量富有时代特色的诗歌散文,分析了不同的偶像人物,深入了解了当时广受欢迎且极富浪漫情怀的王牌飞行员的概念。最终,我们的设计师将目光锁定在侦察任务上。我们认为,讲述战场上制图人员不为人所知的事迹更为重要,因为他们在第一次世界大战中起到了关键作用,我们应借此机会弘扬空中作战人员绘制战场地图的英雄气概。”

 

 

背景

第一次世界大战爆发时,几乎没有人相信飞机会发挥重要作用。近百年来,人们一直利用热气球执行观测和侦察任务,并且以为飞机只会发挥类似的作用。

作为英国陆军的一个分支,英国皇家飞行队首先扮演了“天空之眼”的角色,主要负责报告敌方军队的位置并提供战术优势。在1914年,它只是一支拥有几百架飞机的飞行队,到后期才逐渐成长为一支拥有几千架战机和支援飞机的独立空军军队,规模十分庞大。1918年,英国皇家飞行队更名为我们现如今所熟知的英国皇家空军,自那时便一直保卫着这片蓝天。

英国皇家铸币局消费币主管Anne Jessopp说道:“英国皇家飞行队的2镑纪念币设计令人们再度追忆一战中新组建的皇家飞行队侦查摄影队冲锋陷阵的场景。他们仔细观察陌生且不断变化的战场,绘制出精准的地图并提供可靠情报,对战争的胜利起到了非常关键的作用。”

联系tangerine

更加详细地为您阐释我们如何通过创新型战略设计,帮助您提高市场份额、推广新业务以及最大化提高您的投资回报。

联系我们

Tangerine design £2 coin to commemorate the Royal Flying Corps role in WWI

28th September

Aviation enthusiasts visiting the Imperial War Museums Battle of Britain Air Show at Duxford over weekend, might have received a little piece of history and design magic in their change.

Leading British design consultancy, tangerine, best known for creating the Club World business class seating for British Airways, have married their design expertise and passion for flying, to design a special £2 coin for The Royal Mint that remembers the crucial contribution of aviators in the First World War ‘War in the Air’.

The design shows two airmen – a pilot and his observer of the Royal Flying Corps – in a Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8., performing a reconnaissance flight over an area of the Battle of Arras in April 1917. The land below the plane is depicted as a map, referenced to show the vital work the Royal Flying Corps carried out by drawing, surveying and gathering intelligence of the constantly changing landscapes beneath them.

“We felt hugely privileged, proud and humbled to be asked to design this special commemorative coin,” says Daniel Flashman, tangerine Creative Lead. “We looked at a number of different themes to explore. From studying the poets and the prose of the era to considering the different icons and the notion of the romantic fighter ace widely popularised at the time. Finally, our designer’s eyes settled on reconnaissance. We felt it was important to tell the lesser known story of the crucial role played by cartography in The Great War and the heroism of the airman that mapped the battlefields.”

 

 

 

Background

At the time of the outbreak of the First World War, few people believed that aircraft would play a major role. Hot-air balloons had been used for observation and reconnaissance for almost 100 years and it was thought planes would serve a similar purpose.

The Royal Flying Corps, the aviation branch of the British Army, began its life as an ‘eye in the air’, reporting on the positioning of enemy forces and providing a tactical advantage. It grew from a force of a few hundred aeroplanes in 1914 into a huge, independent air arm of thousands of combat and support aircraft. In 1918 the Royal Flying Corps became the Royal Air Force we know today and has defended the skies ever since.

Anne Jessopp, The Royal Mint’s Director of Consumer Coin said: “The Royal Flying Corps £2 coin design recalls the brave and skilled work of the reconnaissance photography crews of the newly formed Royal Flying Corps during the First World War. They played an important role in creating reliable maps and intelligence in unfamiliar and constantly changing landscapes.”

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and
maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us