为何具有国际视野的整体设计是前进方向

2017年金点设计奖评委Martin Darbyshire讨论了为何具有国际视野的整体设计是前进方向。

“经营企业通常比人们想象的困难很多。”伦敦颇具影响力的设计咨询公司tangerine的首席执行官兼创始人Martin Darbyshire说道。幸运的是,他在英国乃至世界范围内的众多颇具代表性的企业当中脱颖而出。

*tangerine首席执行官Martin Darbyshire。

Darbyshire和Clive Grinyer放弃了他们在Bill Moggridge设计工作室的成功事业,即IDEO的著名英国设计师和联合创始人地位,在伦敦开创了他们自己的设计咨询公司tangerine。那是在1989年,现如今,这家行业领先的设计工作室已在伦敦、韩国、巴西开设分公司,在美国、欧洲、亚洲都有大品牌客户。正如Darbyshire所说,Moggridge工作室是“我们起初能够去到的最好的公司,因此从这家公司跳槽到另一家咨询公司似乎并不是很有意义。”

*Moggridge Associates(现更名为IDEO)公司员工Martin Darbyshire设计的Telenova电话控制台(1986年),现由美国库珀·休伊特国家设计博物馆收藏。由Arango Design Foundation设计基金会捐赠。

年轻时的Darbyshire可能对商业敏感度尚浅,但对时尚却有着敏锐的鉴赏力。他坦承地说:“搞学术不是我的强项”。上学期间,他展现了异常优异的技术制图才华,这得益于学校优秀的艺术系以及他父亲作为工程师对他耳濡目染的影响。 Darbyshire孩童时期就展现了很强的动手能力,他总是花很长时间拆解玩具,并不停的思考这个玩具还能做成什么其他样子。 但直到他考入中央艺术与设计学院时,他才开始专攻设计领域,“回顾过往,也许我本可以做更多其他关于设计的事情,也许这也间接说明了教育的重要性。”

如今,他的作品都收藏在一些世界上最重要的博物馆和机构。首个被收藏的作品便是Darbyshire在旧金山IDEO工作时设计的Telenova产品。他在tangerine设计的作品在现藏于纽约的现代艺术博物馆,可供出售。Darbishire将tangerine为英国航空商务舱打造的平躺座椅设计用作转变服务产品的范例,同时将与Pace Micro科技公司联手为英国天空广播公司(BskyB)设计的机顶盒和个人录像机Sky+作为本工作室的重要设计创新。

*第二代英航商务舱(2006年设计),这是全球首个带有完全平躺座椅的商务舱。图片来自tangerine*为Sky+打造时移电视的标志。这是世界上第一个结合了机顶盒与个人录像机的设计,改变了人们观看以及录制电视节目的方式。图片来自tangerine。

尽管他们的设计成就一直受到当地公司的认可,但Darbyshire从没有停止开发新市场。目前,tangerine百分之八十的收入都来自英国以外的地区,过去十年来一直如此。他说:“我们的很多订单都来自亚洲三个关键市场:中国、韩国和日本。”

海外工作的成果部分得益于Darbyshire与国际贸易部(前身为英国贸易投资总署)的合作,这个政府组织的作用就是为英国创造更多进出口的贸易机会。但也可以归功于tangerine在设计方面的全局观念,这点对这些公司,尤其是亚洲的公司有着极大的吸引力。

“雇用我们的根本原因实际上除了看重我们的设计能力之外,更看重我们对商业的理解和方法。”Darbyshire解释说道。“我们工作所涉及的范围十分广泛:我们不仅为客户打造他们的品牌战略、设计策略,还可以帮助他们了解如何应对不同的市场或顾客群体。我们所做的远远不止是设计一件物品。”

tangerine团队把这些都落到了实处,体现在如下方面:所有参与企业发展和客户联系的员工都拥有设计背景,并且公司为国际客户尤其是日本客户运营的深度设计合作项目当中,会邀请市场营销专员和产品规划人员到伦敦进行以设计为中心的培训。 “如果仅仅是改变了一样东西的设计,我们就不会产生很大的影响,也不会带来持久的收益。”Darbyshire说道,“但是如果我们在帮助客户设计一些新品的同时能够对他们的团队进行再培训,提升他们的思想和工作,那么我们的工作价值就会成倍增长。”

*由tangerine组织的与客户尼康的深入设计合作研讨会。

Darbyshire看到了tangerine客户或项目在未来的发展将日趋多样化。“最大的变化将是设计如何与商业战略更成功的合作?设计师非常舒适的定性工作与战略公司大量参与的定量工作之间仍然存在巨大差距。现实是,两者都不可或缺。”他说道。

当下,他和他的tangerine团队的设计工作囊括众多,从零售业、列车和飞机内饰设计到服务设计,甚至开始开发他们自己的座椅系统、母婴健康以及利基自行车市场的知识产权。“必须得轻装上阵-必须得有远见。”他说道。“尽管公司规模小,但我们行动迅速并且服务更专业。我们把自己定位成为一家精品公司,并为维护精品质量做出不懈努力。”

*为希思罗机场快线头等车厢打造15分钟的高端体验(2011年)。图片来自tangerine。

*我们为一家韩国的美妆品牌悦诗风吟旗舰店打造的全新设计,助其实现了品牌重新定位(2016年)。图片来自tangerine。

Martin Darbyshire多年来一直以各种方式回馈设计界,他不仅就任过中央圣马丁艺术与设计学院的客座教授,担任过像世界设计组织(前身为国际工业设计协会联合会)这样的设计行业组织的委员会成员,还担任过一些国际设计大奖的评委,比如德国著名的红点设计大奖。2016年,他成为了英国设计委员会董事会的董事。

*tangerine首席执行官Martin Darbyshire在2016年韩国全球人力资源论坛上发表题为“为何设计思维就是商业思维”的演讲。图片来自tangerine。

九月,他将前往台湾,担任金点设计奖之2017年度最佳设计奖的国际评委之一。这一奖项是世界上唯一一个在华人(讲中文的人)群体中为华人打造的设计奖项。同时,他还是其姐妹奖项,即金点概念设计奖的国际评委,此奖项旨在推动国际设计的新趋势。

Darbyshire此前几乎从未接触过金点设计奖组织,所以他很自然地想知道他会从组织者那里得到什么样的简报。他说:“我会努力不带个人偏见、以开放的思想了解这些内容。”他认为颁奖最难之处在于要在短时间内对所有参赛作品了解详尽,挑选出自己认为的最成功的产品和项目,并阐释它们的绝妙之处。

他是否认为参加设计大奖对于设计师来说是有价值的呢?“在我看来,用经验来估量评价是很难的一件事。”另一方面,对设计师自身来讲,很重要的一个动力就是你的工作得到了同辈的认可。在亚洲,设计大奖更是尤为重要。我相信在台湾,这些奖项的标准会很高,同时组织者会希望能够保持这样的高标准。

此行并不是Darbyshire第一次到台湾;20世纪90年代初期,他曾前往太平洋边缘的一个多山的小岛,为中国对外贸易促进会(现更名为台湾对外贸易发展协会)资助的HCG浴室项目开展工作。随后tangerine与位于杜塞尔多夫的台北设计中心合作,共同开展华硕 (ASUS),Chaplet以及纬创资通的项目工作。Martin此后也曾多次回访台湾,但是暂时还没有获得来自台湾的客户。“台湾的商业环境是不寻常的。人们十分关注现代工艺设计,但这些大型OEM和ODM公司却没有任何自有设计。 受到国际认可的大品牌在台湾仍占少数。”他说。

*利用西班牙新的旗舰服务站改变Cepsa的品牌观念(2015年)。图片来自tangerine。

当然,他也欣然承认说:“设计领域的工作并不轻松”,他在这个领域看到了台湾的商业人士和政府共同努力,加强对彼此的理解与合作。“设计师们几乎在每一次设计时,都有责任去做一些看似无谓的测试。我们有责任创造出更完善、更有意义的东西”,他解释说道。“这应该成为设计的核心理念。我们的存在并不是为这个世界增添更多东西–我们的存在应该是让这个世界上的东西变得更完善、更具意义、更有效、更与人们息息相关。”

来源:最初由金点设计奖发布的访谈(2017年8月21日)。 http://www.goldenpin.org.tw/

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us

Why holistic design with a global focus is the way forward

Martin Darbyshire, judge of the Golden Pin Design Award 2017, discusses why holistic design with a global focus is the way forward.

“Running a business is often much more challenging than people expect,” says Martin Darbyshire, CEO and co-founder of influential London design consultancy, tangerine. Luckily for many iconic businesses in the UK and around the world, he thrives on challenge.

*Martin Darbyshire, CEO of tangerine.

Darbyshire and Clive Grinyer left successful careers at the studio of Bill Moggridge, celebrated British designer and co-founder of IDEO, to open their own design consultancy, tangerine, in London. That was in 1989, and today, the pioneering design studio has branch offices in London, South Korea, and Brazil, with big-name clients in the USA, Europe and throughout Asia. As Darbyshire notes, working under Moggridge was “the best place we could have gone to in the very beginning, so to move on from there to another consultancy didn’t seem really very relevant.”

*Telenova Phone Console (1986), designed by Martin Darbyshire at Moggridge Associates (now IDEO), which has been collected by the Cooper Hewitt museum, USA. Gift of Arango Design Foundation.

A nose for business may not have been easily apparent in Darbyshire’s early life, but an eye for art certainly was. “Academia was not my strong point,” he readily admits. At school he excelled at technical drawing, a talent boosted by a competent school art department and the fact that his father was an engineer. Darbyshire was the kind of kid who was “given a toy and then spent most of the time taking it apart and figuring out what else could be made from it.” It was not until he was offered a place at the Central School of Art and Design that he shifted his focus to the field of design, though “looking back, there are probably plenty of other things I could have done, and I guess this indicates how important education can be.

Now, his work is held in the collections of some of the world’s most important museums and institutions–first collected was a Telenova product that Darbyshire designed while working at IDEO in San Francisco–and work by tangerine has been available for sale at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York City. Darbyshire cites the business class lie-flat bed that tangerine designed for British Airways, a paradigm shift in service product, and the combination set-top box and personal video recorder, Sky+, designed for BskyB in collaboration with Pace Micro Technology, amongst the studio’s key design innovations.

*2nd Generation of British Airways (BA) Club World (2006), the World’s first fully lie-flat bed in Business Class. Image courtesy of tangerine.*Creating an icon for timeshift TV for Sky+. The world’s first combined set-top box and PVR changed the way people watch and record television. Image courtesy of tangerine.

While their achievements with local companies remain, Darbyshire is always exploring new markets. Right now, around eighty percent of tangerine’s income comes from outside of the UK, and it has been that way for the past decade. “A high percentage of our work comes from Asia, with three key markets: China, South Korea, and Japan,” he notes.

Part of this success overseas could be due to Darbyshire’s work with the Department for International Trade (formerly UK Trade & Investment), a government organization that aims to encourage both export and inward trade opportunities for the UK, but it can also be attributed to tangerine’s holistic perspective of design that companies, especially in Asia, find so attractive.

“The fundamental reason we get hired actually has as much to do with our commercial understanding and approach as our design capability,” Darbyshire explains. “The bandwidth of things that we’re dealing with is quite wide-ranging: we may be working with a client on their brand strategy, on their design strategy, and on how they’re dealing with different markets or customer groups. What we’re doing is a lot broader than the design of an object.”

Clear examples of how the tangerine team puts this into practice can be seen in everything from the fact that staff involved in business development and client liaison all come from a design background to the design immersion programs the company runs for their international clients, most notably Japanese, where marketers and product planners come to London for design-centric training. “If we change the design of one thing, we don’t really have very much impact or necessarily deliver a lasting benefit,” notes Darbyshire, “but if we can help our client deliver something new at the same time as re-train some of their teams to think and work better, the value is exponentially greater.”

*Design Immersion workshop with client Nikon led by tangerine.

Darbyshire sees increasing diversification in the projects and clients tangerine takes on in the future. “The biggest changes will be how can design and business strategy work together more successfully? There’s still a huge gap between the qualitative work that designers are so incredibly comfortable with and the quantitative work that strategy firms are heavily involved in. In reality, you need them both,” he notes.

Right now, he and his team at tangerine are designing everything from retail, train, and aircraft interiors to services, and even beginning to develop IP (intellectual property) of their own in seating systems, and mother and baby welfare and niche bicycle markets. “You’ve got to be lighter–you’ve got to always be onto that next thing,” he says. “The company is small; we can move quickly if we need to and be adept. We do think of ourselves very much as a boutique, and we try to protect that boutique quality.”

*Transforming a 15 minute journey with a premium experience for Heathrow Express First Class (2011). Image courtesy of tangerine.

*Brand repositioning of Korean beauty brand Innisfree through the design of a flagship store in Seoul (2016). Image courtesy of tangerine.

Martin Darbyshire has given back to the design community in many ways throughout the years, including previously holding a visiting professorship at the Central St Martins College of Arts and Design, sitting on committees for design industry groups like the World Design Organisation (formerly International Council of Societies of Industrial Design), and joining international design award juries like the famed Red Dot in Germany.  In 2016, he became a Trustee on the Board at the UK’s Design Council.

*Martin Darbyshire, CEO of tangerine, on stage at the Global HR Forum Korea 2016 delivering a speech titled ‘Why Design Thinking Is Business Thinking’. Image courtesy of tangerine.

In September, he will head to the Taiwan to be part of the international jury selecting the 2017 Best Design winners of the Golden Pin Design Award–the only competition in the world that celebrates design created for and within huaren (Chinese speaking) communities–and its sister award, the Golden Pin Concept Design Award, which seeks to drive new trends in global design.

Darbyshire has had little experience with the Golden Pin award group in the past, so naturally he is interested finding out what kind of brief he will receive from the organizers. “I try to go into these things with an open mind and not establish any preconceptions,” he says. What he finds most difficult with any award is getting enough of an overall view of all the entries in such a short time to establish what products and projects he considers to be the most successful and why.

Does he believe there is value in design awards for the designers that enter? “I think it is always a tricky thing to measure in empirical terms. On the one hand, for designers themselves, there’s an important motivational aspect–your peers saying you’ve done a good job. In Asia, design awards are particularly important. I’m sure in Taiwan, there will be high standards and the organizers will want to ensure those standards are maintained.”

This will not be Darbyshire’s first trip to Taiwan; he headed to the mountainous little island at the edge of the Pacific Ocean in the early 1990’s to work for HCG Bathrooms, a project funded by CETRA (known today as TAITRA), and following this tangerine collaborated with the Taipei Design Centre from Dusseldorf working with Elan Vital (ASUS), Chaplet, and Wistron. Martin has since returned to Taiwan numerous times, though has yet to take on a recent client there. “Taiwan’s commercial environment is a curious one. There is a focus on contemporary craft design sitting alongside these huge OEMs and ODMs that don’t really design anything of their own. There are a few big brands that have been recognised globally, but they are in the minority,” he observes.

*Transforming Cepsa’s brand perception with a new flagship service station in Spain (2015). Image courtesy of tangerine.

Of course, he readily admits that “design is a really difficult sector to work in” and it is an area that he can see both Taiwanese business owners and the government putting in great effort to better understand and incorporate. “Designers have a responsibility to do the ‘so-what’ test pretty much every time they are designing something. It’s our responsibility to create better, more purposeful things,” he explains. “That should be one of the core values of design. We’re not here to put more stuff into the world–we should be here to put better, more relevant, more purposeful, more effective, more efficient stuff into the world.”

SOURCE: Interview originally published by The Golden Pin Design Award, 2017/08/21, http://www.goldenpin.org.tw/

Get in touch with tangerine

We'll explain clearly how we can help you to grow market share, drive new business and
maximise your return on investment through innovative strategic design.

Contact us